[email protected] Product Catalog → India RFID Store

RFID Key Fobs and Keychain Tags Matched to Your Reader

An RFID key fob is an RFID credential in a small sealed body that hangs on a keyring, so staff, members and residents present their keys to a reader instead of carrying a card. Identium lists two RFID keychain tags: the 53 × 37 mm LF TAG at 125 kHz, and the 46 × 30 mm RKT in LF EM4100, HF MIFARE Classic 1K or UHF EPC Gen2 versions. The rule throughout: match the fob to the reader already installed.

LF TAG 125 kHz RFID keyfob tag

The two fobs, side by side

Values are from the store listings.

LF TAGRKT
Form factor and sizeKeyring fob, 53 × 37 × 5.3 mm (±0.2 mm)Oval keyring fob, 46 × 30 × 6 mm
Frequency125 kHz (LF)125 kHz (LF), 13.56 MHz (HF) or UHF, tuned for India’s licence-exempt 865–868 MHz band (G.S.R. 853(E), 2021)
ChipNot stated; confirmed at quotationEM4100 (LF); MIFARE Classic 1K (HF); UHF version uses the EPC Gen2 protocol, chip not named
Weight3.0 g (±0.2 g)Not stated
MaterialNot statedABS
Ingress ratingIP67IP67
Operating temperatureNot stated−25 °C to +70 °C
MountingKeyringKeyring hole, 4 mm diameter
Read rangeNot stated; reader dependentLF 2–10 cm; HF up to 10 cm; UHF 1–5 m; all reader dependent
Printing and coloursNot statedLogo engraving, colour printing, sequential serial numbers; black, white, blue, red, yellow or green
What it is forDoor access, attendance and gym entry with an LF readerDoor access, attendance, gyms and parking, in the version that matches the installed reader

Start from the reader, not the fob

A fob and a reader must share a frequency before anything else matters: a 125 kHz reader cannot see a 13.56 MHz fob, and the reverse is also true. Within one frequency the reader must also understand the chip, which the matrix below sets out. The UHF RKT is the third case: the EPC Gen2 version, read by fixed UHF readers at gates and car parks.

Unsure what is installed? Our guide on how to tell a 125 kHz card from a 13.56 MHz card applies equally to fobs, and the HF RFID readers page explains what “supports MIFARE” means on a reader datasheet.

Chip-to-reader compatibility matrix

ChipFrequency and standardWhat the chip holdsReader it needsPhone NFCIn Identium’s fob listings
EM4100125 kHz (LF)Read-only 64-bit code programmed at the factory125 kHz reader that supports the EM4100 format; confirm against the reader modelNoYes: RKT LF
T5577-type125 kHz (LF)Rewritable; coding and data rate configurable125 kHz reader that accepts the chip’s configuration; test firstNoNot listed; ask
MIFARE Classic 1K13.56 MHz (HF), ISO/IEC 14443 A1 kB in 16 sectors of 4 blocks; the UID sits in block 0 and each sector’s last block holds its two keysISO/IEC 14443 A reader for the UID; sector data needs a reader that supports MIFARE Classic authentication and holds the sector keysAndroid detects it, but MIFARE Classic support is optionalYes: RKT HF
MIFARE Ultralight13.56 MHz (HF), ISO/IEC 14443 ASmall memory in 4-byte pagesISO/IEC 14443 A readerGenerally readable by NFC phones; can be formatted as an NFC Forum Type 2 tagNot listed
NTAG13.56 MHz (HF); most NTAG parts use ISO/IEC 14443 A, some use ISO/IEC 15693NFC Forum (NDEF) memory; tag type varies by NTAG familyHF reader matching the chip’s standard, or an NFC phoneDesigned for NFC devicesNot listed; ask
UHF EPC Gen2UHF, ISO/IEC 18000-63EPC Gen2 tag; chip not named in the listingUHF EPC Gen2 reader covering the fob’s 865 MHz band tuning (fixed reader at gates)NoYes: RKT UHF

Whether a system uses only the fob’s UID or reads sector data is decided by the reader and its software, not by the fob.

Read range and daily carry

The RKT listing gives LF 2–10 cm, HF up to 10 cm and UHF 1–5 m; all figures depend on the reader, its antenna and mounting. The LF TAG listing gives no read range, so test it on your reader before rollout. At a door the short LF or HF tap is a feature, because the reader responds to the fob deliberately held against it; the guide to RFID cards for access control explains how range trades against deliberate presentation.

LF has no anti-collision in practice, so an LF reader handles one tag at a time. Two LF fobs on one keyring, presented together, may not read; present one at a time.

Both fobs are rated IP67 in their listings, which suits daily carry. The RKT’s operating temperature is −25 °C to +70 °C; its listing gives no storage figure.

Security and lost fobs

An EM4100 fob returns a fixed factory code, and nothing on the chip authenticates it, so it suits gym or society entry better than sensitive doors. The HF RKT’s MIFARE Classic 1K sector keys add protection only when the system reads sector data, not just the UID.

Each EM4100 fob carries its own factory code, so a lost fob is replaced by enrolling a new one and deleting the old code in the access software; the same routine applies to the HF and UHF versions. Keep a record of which fob went to whom when you issue them, so the right code can be found and deleted quickly.

Printing, colours and numbering

RKT RFID keyfob tag in ABS

On the RKT, body colour and print are separate choices: one of six body colours (black, white, blue, red, yellow or green) can mark an access tier or a building block, and the logo or sequential serial number is engraved or printed on top.

A printed number is only useful if it matches what the reader or attendance software shows, so confirm that format on the live system before the batch is printed. For the reader side of a door installation, see the store’s guide to setting up RFID door access.

Where fobs fit: societies, gyms, offices and parking

Typical uses:

  • Housing societies. Residents present a fob at the entry panel; check whether the panel reads 125 kHz or 13.56 MHz first, and which chip it expects, since the frequency alone does not settle it.
  • Gyms. Member entry at the front desk or turnstile; a printed serial number lets staff match a returned or lost fob to the member record.
  • Offices. Staff door access and attendance; see RFID access control and biometrics and the RFID time and attendance system.
  • Locker banks. LF and HF fobs (not the UHF RKT) can be paired with RFID locker locks; confirm the chip family each lock model accepts first.
  • Parking. The UHF RKT is read by a fixed UHF reader at the gate; see RFID vehicle parking management.

Coin-shaped tokens are another form factor for the same kind of credential; ask if your design needs one. For PVC and PETG credentials see RFID cards, and for HF inlays, labels and ABS tags see NFC and HF RFID tags.

Choosing and ordering

To match a fob first time, send the reader make and model or a sample fob, the chip if known, the quantity, and your printing and numbering needs, including the number format your software shows. If the site runs more than one reader type, say which doors use which, so each group gets the version its reader accepts.

Both fobs are on the store: the LF TAG 125 kHz keyfob and the RKT keyfob in LF, HF or UHF. Pricing is quoted against specification; contact us with the details.

Frequently asked questions

Will an RKT fob work with my existing reader?

Only if the version matches the reader's frequency and chip: the EM4100 version for a 125 kHz reader that supports EM4100, the MIFARE Classic 1K version for a 13.56 MHz reader that supports MIFARE Classic, or the EPC Gen2 version for a UHF EPC Gen2 reader. No fob works with every reader. Send the reader make and model, or a sample of the fob already in use, so the version can be matched before quoting.

Can a phone read these fobs?

A phone's NFC works only at 13.56 MHz, so it can never read the LF TAG, the LF RKT or the UHF RKT. The HF RKT carries MIFARE Classic 1K, and Android treats MIFARE Classic support as optional, so a phone may detect the fob without reading its sectors. A fob that phones read reliably uses an NFC Forum tag chip, such as NTAG; neither listing offers one, so ask if you need it.

What is the difference between EM4100 and a rewritable LF chip?

EM4100 is read-only: it returns a 64-bit code programmed at the factory, and the code cannot be rewritten. A T5577-type chip is rewritable, and its coding and data rate are configurable, so what a reader sees depends on how the chip was set up. The RKT's LF version uses EM4100; a rewritable LF fob is not listed, so ask, and test reader acceptance before rollout.

Can you print numbers and logos on fobs?

The RKT listing offers logo engraving, colour printing and sequential serial numbers, and lists six fob colours: black, white, blue, red, yellow and green. Ask for the printed number to match the format your reader or attendance software displays. The LF TAG listing does not state printing options, so ask before planning artwork for it.

Do RFID key fobs need WPC or BIS approval?

No. Passive fobs have no transmitter, so they need no WPC approval and no BIS registration. In India those approvals apply to readers, and Identium is a BIS and WPC approved RFID manufacturer. If your project needs material compliance, ask for the SKU's material-compliance declaration in writing.

Which fob suits a car-park gate?

The UHF RKT, the EPC Gen2 version, read by a fixed UHF reader at the gate. Its listing gives UHF 1–5 m; treat that as reader dependent and measure it with your fixed reader. The listing does not give an in-vehicle figure: a fob held inside a car and read through the windscreen, especially coated glass, may not read, so trial it at the gate before rollout. The LF and HF fobs need a deliberate tap at short range, so they suit doors and attendance points rather than vehicle lanes.

Need pricing, samples or a demo?

Talk to our RFID specialists — we manufacture in India and ship nationwide.